Hospital Librarian of the Year Award

The SC/MLA Hospital Librarian of the Year Award was established to recognize a hospital librarian who has made significant contributions to the profession including

  • overall distinction,
  • leadership in hospital library administration or service,
  • production of a definitive publication related to hospital librarianship, teaching, research, or advocacy, OR
  • the development or application of innovative technology to hospital librarianship

The recipient receives a plaque and a cash award of $250.00.

Criteria for the award:

  • The nominees must be a member of SC/MLA. (The nominee does NOT have to be a member of MLA.)
  • Nominees must be hospital librarians at the time of the award and must have worked in a hospital library for at least 3 years immediately preceding the award.
  • The nomination may be made for notable contributions to hospital librarianship in the areas of service, administration, advocacy, technology, leadership, instruction, presenting, research, or publishing.
Deadline:  All nominations must be received no later than August 15th.

The recipient will be notified by the end of September and the award will be presented at the annual meeting.

Please review the criteria and nomination form.  

Please forward nominations Tamara Nelson at

DONATE: Donate to the Hospital Librarian of the Year Award.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software