Academic Librarian of the Year Award

The SC/MLA Academic Librarian of the Year Award was established in 1998 and the first award was presented in 1999.


•The nominee must be a member of both SC/MLA and MLA.

•The nominee must be in “mid-career” at the time of the award, defined as someone working at least 5 and not more than 15 years in an academic health sciences library; the nominee may not be a library director.

•The nominee must have worked in an academic health sciences library for each of the last 5 years immediately preceding the nomination and must be an academic health sciences librarian at the time of the award.

•The nomination may be made for outstanding regional, national or international contributions to academic health sciences librarianship as demonstrated by excellence in performance (leadership), publications, research, service, or a combination of these 4 elements.

•The nominee must show potential for leadership and continuing excellence at mid-career in the area of academic health sciences librarianship.

Nominations must include:

•Precise description of the nominee's achievements

•A current résumé or curriculum vitae

•Any additional information which may assist the committee in evaluation of the nomination and selection of the recipient (i.e. AHIP membership, etc.)

•Up to three letters of support may be attached to the nomination (optional)

The winner of the award will be announced at the Annual Meeting of the Southern Chapter/MLA and presented with a plaque and a check for $250.

Deadline for nominations: August 15th 

Submit recommendations to Tamara Nelson at

DONATE: Donate to the Academic Librarian of the Year Award.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software